Trinity House Lightship 38 Gull (Brake)

United Kingdom / England / Grays /
 abandoned / shut down, destroyed, lightship

a ruin of a former Lightship
Nearby cities:
Coordinates:   51°28'18"N   0°19'26"E

Comments

  • The remains of the former Trinity House Lightship, The Gull which is now beached beside the river Thames at Grays was the victim of an arson attack and was set alight on 2nd June 2002. A local restoration group is hoping to obtain lottery funding to assist in the restoration of this historic vessel, but this act of vandalism now makes that task so much harder. The Gull was built in 1860 and after more than 80 years ser­vice for Trinity House it was bought for use as a clubhouse at Thurrock Yacht Club, open­ing in 1971
This article was last modified 5 years ago