Porta Regia (Antwerp (municipality))

Belgium / Antwerpen / Antwerp / Antwerp (municipality) / Vlaamsekaai
 arch, monument, gate, listed building / architectural heritage, 17th century construction

Waterpoort (Water Gate) or Coninckxpoort was a city gate to the river Scheldt in Antwerp. In 1624 she was established as triumphal arch for King Philip IV. Originally she was built on the Vlasmarkt to a design attributed to Rubens. Following work on the quays, the port in the 1880s' moved to the St. John Vliet. Then at that place in 1933, the entrance building of the new St. Anna Pedestrian Tunnel was to appear, the gate was moved again. In 1936 she was finally rebuilt in the Gillis Place on the south, the damped Zuiderdokken.

Because they already have been two other places, she received the nickname 'the walking gate.
In 1985 the gate was protected monument.
Nearby cities:
Coordinates:   51°12'29"N   4°23'20"E
This article was last modified 12 years ago