Jeongamsa

Korea (South) / Kangwon / Taebaek /
 buddhist temple  Add category

Jeongamsa, a Korean Buddhist temple, was founded in 638 by Buddhist Saint Jajang-yulsa to house the Buddha’s remains (sarira). Jeongamsa is one of the five "Jeokmyeolbogung", temples that enshrine the relics of the Buddha that Jajang-yulsa returned with from China. Records indicate that Jeongamsa was rebuilt in 1713 but was soon destroyed by lightning, rebuilt six years later, and recently again restored.

The first buildings at the entrance to Jeongamsa are the monks’ quarters and a jolly stone statue of the monk Budai greets visitors to the temple. High above off in the distance is the seven-tier stone pagoda, Sumanotap, overlooking the temple. The main worship hall, Jeokmyeolbogung, is on the other side of Jajang Stream, away from the main part of the temple. Jeokmyeolbogung is plain in appearance and contains no statues of Buddha.

A long time ago fresh water fish known as " Salmontrout " used to live along Jajang Stream at Jeongamsa. The fish lived in cold fresh water and was nocturnal, but can no longer be found here.

Jeongamsa Sumanotap is Treasure #410.

Jeokmyeolbogung is Cultural Property of Gangwon-do #32.
Nearby cities:
Coordinates:   37°10'58"N   128°53'35"E
This article was last modified 8 years ago