Lowry Learning Center & Pogue Special Collections Library (Murray, Kentucky)

USA / Kentucky / Murray / Murray, Kentucky / 15th Street
 Upload a photo

Nearby cities:
Coordinates:   36°36'41"N   88°19'20"W

Comments

  • The building which now houses the Lowry Learning Center (the building to the south) was annexed to the original University Library in the 1960s. The library (the building on the north opened in 1931) later became the Forrest C. Pogue Library housing special collections in 1978 when the Waterfield Student Union Building (the SUB) was converted to the main campus library. Pogue houses the University Archives, Manuscript Collections, and Kentucky and local history resources which is the reason for its use by local residents as well as many people from other areas and states for genealogical research of the Calloway County area and, indeed, for all of the seven counties of the Jackson Purchase as well as many nearby counties and the state as a whole. The collection also includes many resources for researching mainly the states in the eastern part of the U.S., especially the southeastern regions including Virginia, North and South Carolina, and Tennessee. Pogue has many sources of information relating to the American Revolution and the Civil Wars and also holds the sizable War and Diplomacy collection donated by Dr. Forrest C. Pogue for whom the Library is named.
This article was last modified 17 years ago