Handle House (Trowbridge)

United Kingdom / England / Trowbridge / Wicker Hill
 Grade II* Listed (UK)  Add category

Probably between 1843-1848. Built on segmental bridge over River Biss. Brick
with pantiled roof. Heavily perforated wall panels to allow free passage of air
for teazle drying.
list.english-heritage.org.uk/resultsingle.aspx?uid=1283...
Nearby cities:
Coordinates:   51°19'13"N   2°12'39"W

Comments

  • Fuller is the old name for someone who used teasel to comb out wool. Therefore in some places teasel is also known by the name ‘brush and comb’. Furthermore the Irish name Lus an Fhucadora translates as ‘Fuller’s Herb’. In addition another name is ‘Johnny-prick-the-finger’, due to its sharp spiky form. Today a cultivated variety of teasel is still grown for use in the textile industry. It has hooks on the ends of the spikes, and is used in the manufacture of cashmere and velour fabrics.
This article was last modified 12 years ago